Texan in Norwich

Guacamole Tuesday

Leave a comment

Tuesday night is taco night in the Owen household. Taco Tuesday. James works in London on Tuesdays, so when he returns we go all out. Homemade tacos (no seasoning from a bag due to all my allergies), grated cheese, beer for James, cider for me, and the pièce de résistance: guacamole. The tacos are really just an excuse to eat guacamole so Taco Tuesday is kind of a misnomer. My taco recipe would help no one, since there are a lot better recipes for tacos that I can’t eat, so this post is all about the guacamole.

Beautiful, isn’t it?

I have a deep and profound love for guacamole. Being from Texas, Tex-Mex is a way of life. There’s not a lot I can eat anymore, but I could live on homemade guacamole. I can’t eat any from restaurants, because of the lime they add, but I wouldn’t really want to here anyways. Because here in the UK they put corn in their guacamole. CORN. No, sir! They also overdo it on the lime to where it just tastes like limey-mash with corn in it. No. No no no.

My guacamole has six ingredients. Avocados, red onion, chili pepper (or jalapeño if you can find it), salt, cilantro/coriander, and a dash of apple juice.

To start out, I chop half of a small onion, or about a third of a big one, very finely. Do the same to a chili pepper. I use about 2/3 of a chili pepper and then throw in a few seeds in the end if it’s not spicy enough. If you don’t like much spice, start out with 1/2 of a chili pepper and taste it as you go along. (Note: I prefer jalapeño peppers here, but they seem to be difficult to find in Norwich, so a red chili works okay)

This is a slightly misleading picture because this chopping board is about half the size of a normal chopping board. I like the onions and peppers chopped very finely. Each piece of onion is about 1cm thick. (The onions on the other chopping board were for our tacos, so were chopped thicker, ignore those!)

Then cut 2 avocados in half and remove the skin. I like to break them up into pieces as I put the avocados in a bowl so its easier to mash up. Pour in a dash of apple juice so to add some moisture. The apple juice is my substitute for lime. You don’t taste the apple juice at all, but it keeps the guac from getting brown right away and helps the texture.

Once you put in the apple juice, stir the avocados around with a fork to soften them up a bit. Then put in your onions and chilies.

Now just stir it up! I use a regular fork and just stir it for a while until it starts to get soft. There’s no need to seriously mash it or go crazy, it will start to get soft on its own with some vigorous stirring. Once it’s soft, add a bit of salt to taste and some chopped coriander/cilantro. This makes enough for two very hungry guacamole lovers.

Another technique is just to throw all your ingredients in a food processor and let it go. Just start with roughly chopped onion and chili, then when that’s blitzed to oblivion add the apple juice, avocado and a pinch of salt. I don’t like this as much because it creates almost a guacamole paste. I like my guac with different textures and some lumps of avocado here and there. But if you’re in a hurry or don’t want to make as much of a mess, the food processor works fine.

And this is what you get! (Vegan readers, I’m sorry, look away now)

Look at that beauty! And it’s ridiculously easy to make, so there’s really no excuse not to go make some right now!

Author: kelly104

I'm a food allergy stricken Texan blogging about living and baking in Norwich, UK.

Leave a Reply

