Texan in Norwich

A (White) Texas Christmas

1 Comment

I’m back in Norwich now playing catch-up now on the Christmas posts… I’m not very good at this, am I?!

On Christmas Eve, my extended family, who all live nearby, came over to have dinner and exchange presents. We do secret santa for the adults, and I had drawn my Uncle Rick. I knitted him an awesome scarf, if I do say so myself. Here he is with it and his silly son, Payson.

IMG_0068

I received an amazingly warm coat from my grandma, which has come in really handy in all this snow!

On Christmas Day, we had (gluten free and vegan) pancakes for breakfast, then my sister came over and we exchanged gifts. I am now the proud owner of not one, but TWO animal sweaters (a fox and a panda, thank you very much). We had tamales for lunch, which is a sort of Mexican/Texan and family tradition. Then for only the second time in my life, we had a white Christmas!

Cleo in the snow

Our dog, Cleo, just as it started snowing.

Snow in Grapevine

Christmas Eve is always the party day in my family, so Christmas Day is very relaxed and lazy. We played some board games, watched some movies, and enjoyed being inside during the cozy Christmas snow.

A few days after Christmas, my friends from high school came over and we had our annual Christmas White Elephant Exchange. I know people call this game different things, but this is where everyone brings a cheap/gag/regifted gift and we take turns opening them and stealing them from each other. This year I ended up with Anne Heche’s biography and James got a box of magic tricks. Last year I got some Justin Bieber magnets and a thing you put in your toaster to burn the Virgin Mary into your toast, so this year was an improvement! We’ve been doing this since 2007, our first Christmas in college.

P1020568Not the best picture, but oh well!

The week of Christmas, as you can see, is pretty much the same every year. Pre-Christmas outing with my family, Christmas Eve with my extended family, Christmas Day eating tamales and relaxing with my immediate family, and then a White Elephant Exchange with my high school friends. There’s something very comforting about coming home every year for Christmas and knowing all these events are waiting for me. It’s probably my favorite week of the year.

Author: kelly104

I'm a food allergy stricken Texan blogging about living and baking in Norwich, UK.

One thought on “A (White) Texas Christmas

Leave a Reply

